"Any tips for a new grad to stand out in an intervew?" Hey all, I know this should be the easiest interview question; but it really isnt. It helps you to break the ice and feel more at ease too! Making the transition from nursing student to nurse is stressful. Print out multiple copies of your resume and buy a portfolio folder! They are also not allowed to make hiring decisions based on that personal information. You might be asked how you’ll contribute to the hospital’s mission or even to name a few aspects of the mission. I know how to take blood, monitor patients, and I have excellent people skills. And then plan on leaving so that you arrive at least 30 minutes prior to our interview. It shows that you are interested in the position. I have been a hiring manager before, and I never cared about an applicant's hobbies, etc... Edited Apr 9, 2015 by singwithme123 Tell me about a time where you had to deal with conflict with a friend/manager. What are your short term goals? The purpose of a job interview is for the potential employer to learn more about your qualifications for the job being discussed, and for you to learn about the employer and the position so that all parties involved can determine if you are a good fit for the opening. What will the orientation phase be like? For example, I had one interviewer who was a climber. Learn how your comment data is processed. Nursing recruiters have their choice of applicants, which means you'll have to ace the job interview to find yourself employed. 1-612-816-8773. I’ve always worn a blazer with a pair of dress pants/skirt and nice business looking flats. How would you say you perform under pressure? Has 30 years experience. Give an example of a time you handled a stressful situation. Although I still get plenty of rejections and am by no means “an expert,” I’ve learned from my mistakes and have been able to fine tune the skill of interviewing enough to hopefully help you land that job! What Questions to Expect in Your